Cebu City marks 81st; Gives awards to 15 persons, institutions

A THREE-TIME Special Investigator Achiever of the Year of the National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) and a Belgian composer who recently held a free concert at the Cebu City Museum were among the recipients of the Mayor’s Special Award from the City Government during its 81st Charter Day celebration held last Saturday.

Arnel Pura has been with the NBI for 24 years as special investigator.

He received the commendation from the mayor as an outstanding individual for his staunch effort in the anti-crime campaign.

In 2017, Pura had filed 196 cases that included high-profile raids on drugs dens, the automated teller machine skimming by the Romanians, the online gambling operated by Korean nationals, and the Pulangbato murder case.

In an interview, Pura told SunStar Cebu that he is “humbled” by the award given to him.

“I was surprised to learn that I was chosen as an awardee, but I will take this as a challenge to continuously do better and uphold fairness,” he said.

Other recipients of the Mayor’s Special Award include Belgian composer Maestro David Anne, SPO1 Alan Caumeran of the Mabolo Police Station, and businessman Michel Lhuillier.

Before handing out the award, Mayor Tomas Osmeña thanked Lhuillier for putting up the giant Christmas tree that the latter sponsors yearly at the the Fuente Osmeña Circle.

“Without you, Christmas in Cebu City will never be the same,” the mayor said.

Lhuillier, in response, said this will only inspire him to engage in more projects that will help the City Government.

Posthumous awardees chosen by the mayor, meanwhile, include Roberto Eduardo “Bobby” Aboitiz, former president of the Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc. and Nap Sentillas, former chairman of the Guadalupe Multi-Purpose Cooperative.

Robinsons Land Corp. was also awarded by the mayor for building their shopping center, Robinsons Galleria, which was used by the City as venue for renewal of business permits and payment of taxes last January.

Separate awards were also given to outstanding individuals and institutions chosen by a selection committee.

For the outstanding individuals, there were four awardees. They were 2017 Southeast Asian Games marathon gold medalist Mary Joy Tabal, film director Remton Zuasola, radiologist Dr. Warfe Engracia, and theater and film actress Chai Fonacier.

Mabolo Elementary School and Julie’s Bakeshop, on the other hand, were named outstanding institutions.

There are also two posthumous awardees. They were Cebuano composer Vicente Rubi, and Pranic Healing and Arhatic Yoga founder Grand Master Choa Kok Sui. RTF

No Conspiracy Here